Skip to content

Bio: Eric Powell

January 1, 2009

eric powellI began practicing yoga at Chicago Yoga Center 17 years ago with a great teacher and wonderful person, Suddha Weixler. My first yoga class was led ashtanga and I absolutely loved it! Luckily, the studio offered many styles of yoga. I had the opportunity to try many classes giving me a very eclectic background that includes vinyasa and Iyengar. during my time in Chicago, I took workshops/studied with Annie Pace, David Swenson, Richard Freeman and Karen Haberman. Eventually, yoga carried me to nyc where I met Manju Jois. Manju and I immediately ‘hit it off’ and have been friends since our first meeting. I have worked closely with him in and out of the U.S., sometimes assisting with workshops, and completing one of his teacher trainings. Recently, I have begun to move toward a ‘slow flow’ style incorporating the ideas of Srivatsa Ramaswami, also a direct student of Krisnamacharya. Yoga has taken me many places both internal (the outer reaches of inner space) and external (workshops in Turkey, Germany, Czech Republic). The trip has always been interesting and worth the time and effort. I look forward to more exploration!

Leave a Reply

