Skip to content

5 Practice Questions for Cory

March 19, 2009

Williamsburg, Brooklyn’s Sangha Yoga Shala opens on April 13th, 2009.  Until then, our Iyengar teacher shares her “yoga story”


Cory Washburn

Name: Cory Washburn
Birthday: Aries
Hometown: Denver

1.  What brought you to yoga?

A restless mind and a limber body.

2. Describe your first class(es) or practice and your reaction to it.

My first class was with a gay black yoga teacher who told a story about someone cutting in front of him on a line.

3. How/why did you get hooked?

My first Iyengar class was with a super flexible and super intense teacher who I have been with for over 20 years. She made my mind work as well as my body, she taught me concentration and has enlightened me over the years something new every class for 20 years not bad.

4. Describe the development of your practice and history with teachers since then.

I have lived all over the world and have taken class with a lot of different teachers and a lot of different methods. When I moved back to New York I was asked to make a choice and since I always learn something new every class and although I leave I decided to come home to Iyengar and have not regretted it since.

5. What are your practice goals for the future?

I would like to bring softness to my practice. Working on a sense of grace.



Save the date!  Cory’s first class is on Monday, April 13th at noon.  And yes, there will be a rope wall involved.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

