Skip to content

Katy loves cupcakes: A 5 question yoga story

March 25, 2009

Name: Katy Pyle
Birthday/Star sign/number: August 16, same as Madonna, LEO 3
Birthplace/hometown: Alma, MI/ but Austin, TX is where I hail from
Favorite post-practice treat: cupcake!
katy

The start.
I was training as a dancer in high school at North Carolina School of the Arts, and yoga was a required body conditioning class.

First class.
My first class was at NCSA, and I really thought my teacher was crazy. She seemed like she was in ecstasy when she’d demonstrate a pose, especially utkatasana. She would tremble.

The addiction.
There was definitely a process of obsession, and then dissipation for a number of years. I knew that yoga connected me to myself, and helped my feeling of well-being, but for awhile I guess I didn’t really want that all the time.

The history.
I spent the summer before college studying at Integral Yoga, and then did a fairly casual, ie inconsistent, group practice with friends in college. I moved to New York after school and started practicing at OM Yoga, under the tutelage of Cyndi Lee, Christie Clark, Margi Young, Frank Mauro, and Joe Miller. In 2006 I completed teacher training at OM, and am currently teaching there. I am also presently pursuing a 500hr Urban Zen Integrative Therapist certification under the primary guidance of Rodney Yee.

The future is . . .
Always coming back to the present!

Katy also knits like crazy and will offer knitting classes and workshops in addition to juicy vinyasa at Sangha Yoga Shala starting April 27th.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

