Skip to content

Meet Sara

April 2, 2009

Name: Sara Littlesara
Birthday/Star sign/mayan astrology: Oct 4/Libra/Monday’s Child
Birthplace/hometown: Born in Portland, OR, raised in Bend, OR
Favorite color: orange (go orange!)
Signature style: Vinyasa

How would you describe your practice?
My practice is a calming force, a chance to renew, a chance to play, and a chance to be compassionate with myself.

What does it mean to practice?
I like to think in terms of “practice,” and to say “PRACTICE yoga” rather than “DO yoga.” To me, “practice” implies that mistakes and goofiness and lots of falling are allowed, and we can be ourselves more easily and try new things with abandon. “Practice” is less serious sounding. I think that practicing also prepares us for something much bigger than ourselves…

What is your biggest practice-related challenge at the moment?
Just getting myself there! NYC offers way too many fun and tasty distractions.

How did you get into your practice?
I lived in Italy several years ago and a particularly statuesque and lovely Greek-Italian girl and I were good friends while working as journalists at an art magazine. We often found ourselves on assignments that involved travel, translating and interpreting, lots of confusion, and I got easily worked up about these things. So she introduced me to pranayama breathing. We spent weekends at the beach together and she would teach me asana that she had learned from a teacher in Greece. I think I was naturally drawn to yoga because I was pretty burned out from years of being a competitor (in sports, in academics, in life) and it was refreshing to just be still and to accept myself for who I was and work within my own body…even though for several years after, I was still a maniacal, intense person. Yoga has taught me to slow down, breathe, take it easy, one step at a time.

Sara will be teaching alignment-based vinyasa classes at Sangha Yoga Shala starting in Spring.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2009 12:59 pm

    Great site this sanghayogashala.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. April 10, 2009 11:51 pm

    brill site this sanghayogashala.wordpress.com brill to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. April 16, 2009 4:50 pm

    terrific site this sanghayogashala.wordpress.com terrific to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

