Skip to content

RE: The Tea Talk

April 23, 2009

I am so excited to be doing the Mysore/Ashtanga tea talk at the Sangha Yoga Shala.  When I decided to go to Mysore to study Ashtanga yoga at what was then the “Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute,” my friend Christi commented that the city’s name sounded “like a venereal disease.”  After I practiced for one month at AYRI, I realized that it could also perversely function as a double-entendre: every morning, I awoke so sore and broken that my body felt like it was literally being put back together one piece at a time.  And it was.  My hamstrings, my knees, my shoulders, my hips, everything was “opening.”  Two years later, my body/mind is still going through the process of purification.  But it is much more than that.  What is the purpose of physical asana?  How does yoga provide a path for the practitioner to look within?  Are there other such paths?  Why is Mysore so special?  These are just some of the questions that we might begin to address and explore in the tea talk coming up on May 2.  I am looking forward to seeing you there!

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

