Skip to content

Yoga Roadkill… My Right Big Toe

May 12, 2009

So, Im moseying about my practice, minding my own business when all of a sudden an unbearable pain shoots through my right big toe.  I thought perhaps I had stepped on something sharp as I was diligently “pressing into my right big toe mound” (my fellow YW alum will appreciate that reference) in Trikonasana.  Although this pain was severely affecting my breath as well as my focus, I decided I was going to see the pain as my teacher and “use it”.  I mean, the pain doesn’t really exist, its just something I am accepting and identifying with, right?  I thought about all those stories I heard about people meditating in a swarm of bees or continuing to practice ashtanga after “an opening” (That was for you Elise:)…

I could do this, I thought, I just need to engage my bandhas, my answer to everything these days as navigating these locks are my recent asana obsession.  So, as I continued to wobbly make my way through the class I was determined not to look to see what the cause of my discomfort was, I would not give in to the distraction however irritating.  It may be able to steal my alignment but not my concentration…

Anyway,  after class (or maybe I stole a little peek in baddha konasana), I finally saw what had been ailing me…  A hard piece of skin was hanging off the fleshy part of my big toe basically like a hangnail, leaving me with a raw patch of  skin – red, inflamed and fully exposed to inflict pain during all poses in which my feet are firmly planted on the ground.  I found out later that it is not uncommon and is in fact a “rolling over your toes” injury.

I share my story because maybe you relate and can relay a story of your own, and if you have any remedies to aid this injury, I’d love to know… My downward dog and peace of mind will thank you.

P&L,

Alana

CIMG1266

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 3:31 pm

    I just found your blog. Great articles and well written. Namaste!

    • songbird81 permalink*
      May 14, 2009 9:33 pm

      Thanks! Come back soon:)

  2. nataliette permalink
    May 12, 2009 7:36 pm

    For an external approach, there is some really great stuff called “liquid bandaid” or something like that. It’s a little liquid that you brush on (after your injury has healed for a day and is clean) and it forms a layer of protective “skin” that will prevent this from opening again.
    If you want to try to prevent it, you must must stay hydrated. You, being a nutritionist, would also know some food types that would make the skin remain elastic and juicy… so eat those foods! And post what they are, so I know!

  3. anonymous permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:25 pm

    I tape my toes when that happens. Coconut oil is good to help prevent them too.

  4. elise permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:36 pm

    this dude calls ’em “ashtanga toes”…

    http://grimmly2007.blogspot.com/2008/10/manduka-equa-yoga-towel-arrived.html

  5. Sel permalink
    July 7, 2009 5:53 am

    Ahhh the dreaded Ashtanga toe! There really isn’t a cure. Let’s just say we keep the shala well stocked with surgical tape.

Leave a Reply

