Skip to content

Farmer’s Market Fun

August 17, 2009

I love the farmers market. I could spend the BIG bucks and not even think twice. There’s something about fresh veggies and talking right to the people that hand picked them that gets me all warm in the heart and smiley in the face. I spent my summers growing up in San Jose, CA planting, weeding and playing in the dirt of my dad’s garden. After a Saturday or Sunday of digging my dad and I would crack open some brews [mine was root beer of course], sit in our lawn chairs, and watch the garden grow. There’s something about the California sun that does miracles for produce, tomatoes in particular. If you’re a tomatoes lover like myself, after biting into one of these you’ll never be the same.

One of the things I had to sacrifice here in the Big Apple is my dream of having my very own garden, so I’ve resolved to the next best thing, the farmers market. It’s hard to breathe in the huge union square farmers market yet for the longest time I was convinced that was my closest option. Stands and stands with beautiful local grown products, breads, cookies and cakes and the masses to boot, all lined up for their taste of local genius. Problem is, come noon there is barely any place to stand let alone shop. Also, I have lived in Harlem or queens for the past 3 and a half years so to get to my market I had to set aside a whole day and prep for the trek. Rations, water, book. Before I knew it I was on my way home with 20 lbs of produce, my ration pack, and mini library.

If you are like me and love eating yummy local grown produce but live a little too far away from Union square and try to avoid abnormally large crowds while making your precious produce decisions of the week, have no fear! You probably have a farmers market around the corner and don’t even know about it. Go to newsletter@communitymarkets.biz

Sign up on their mailing list, and wham bam you have the latest updates on markets, farmers, and what’s in season. No more having to trek all the way to outer east ghunga to get your weekly produce, you can just step outside your apartment and “BHAM!”, Agricultural genius at your service.

As for myself, I now reside at the grassroots market on 145 and Edgecomb every Tuesday and sometimes you can catch me on Saturdays. Not only are the farmers sweet as pie but they remember me and always hook me up with some extra fresh herbs for the road. Harlemites, if this is your hood stop by and show some love. They’ll be happy to see you and your tummy will be happy too.

Enjoy this weeks fruits all! Literally. Apple season is right around the corner so prep your mason jars and get to canning. I’ll be happy to sample anyone’s apple sauce!

INGREDIENTS
• 4 apples – peeled, cored and chopped
• 3/4 cup water
• 1/4 cup white sugar
• 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

DIRECTIONS
In a saucepan, combine apples, water, sugar, and cinnamon. Cover, and cook over medium heat for 15 to 20 minutes, or until apples are soft. Allow to cool, then mash with a fork or potato masher.

-Malissa

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessie permalink
    August 18, 2009 1:23 am

    woot San Jose!

Leave a Reply

