Skip to content

I am Dating Yoga.

September 13, 2009

So you breakup. Okay.  Move on. Be you, do you, live your life. Sure, got it.

But what about… everything else that once mattered a week ago and no longer hold as much gravity, not because it doesn’t inside but because in theory, it’s no longer a piece of your circle.  Of your day, your reality.

You cope. Friends, wine, trips, music, dancing, and all the sunshine in the city can’t quite make up for…. well, you know, and it depends on the person.

EXCEPT for Yoga. Yes Yoga.  Nothing in my life has forced me to be more aware of my being than Yoga. I’ve heard a woman once say, Yoga saved her life. She is one of my mentors and an amazing yoga instructor, Jenny Aurthur.  I know yoga is there for me no matter what.  I have no attachment to my mat or the space or the sound, or the instructor… rather I have a healthy attachment to my breath. Ha, and shouldn’t we all ?

In these times, this wild world and city (NYC) we live in, we need to check in, check in with ourselves, because ultimately, all we really have is ourselves.  Yoga teaches you to be present, to be strong, and find focus.

And so, now. I am here, and I am dating yoga.  Enough said.

Be well, have a carrot with humus and meet me at Sangha Yoga Sala on Saturday.

-Jen

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bendyburg permalink*
    September 13, 2009 11:23 am

    Workout for a wounded heart:
    http://www.womenshealthmag.com/yoga/yoga-to-heal-a-broken-heart

    The yoga of mending a broken heart:
    http://www.elephantjournal.com/2009/08/yoga-broken-heart-kathryn-budig/

  2. September 29, 2009 11:13 am

    Thanks for your article.

Leave a Reply

