Skip to content

{Bio} Luke Simon

January 22, 2010


In my teaching I seek to integrate awareness of the details of the poses into a Vinyasa framework. Can we move dynamically and fluidly in class without losing our awareness? For me this relates to the experience of life– can we maintain our poise and grace while in the stream of experience? In this way the yoga practice prepares us for carrying our experiences on the mat into our daily life. I like for class to feel energizing, uplifting and focused– we’ll use the tools of the yoga tradition to bring us to those ends– pranayama, chanting and philosophy are all called upon to fill out the experience of the body in the asanas. We want to feel free in our bodies, to feel lifted and alive, if we bring our mind to the practice the bodies natural intelligence takes over.

Born and raised in New Mexico, I moved to New York to to study writing, art and religious philosophy at Sarah Lawrence College. I love the rich culture and grit of living in the city and am inspired to share the yoga practice I love and find so necessary to maintain balance in this concrete jungle!

current schedule

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 4:06 am

    So looking forward to teaching and getting to know Sanghites!

  2. April 16, 2010 12:20 am

    Luke’s class left me refreshed and energized! I love his playfulness and joy… I’ll be back to class soon!
    Besos.

Trackbacks

  1. February Sneak Peek « Sangha Yoga Shala Blog

Leave a Reply

